Daily Prompt: Breaking the Law | Rules? No Thanks

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

UnknownOkay, Daily Prompt, the biggest rule I’ve broken that I’m at liberty to speak about is speed limit signs.  I jokingly (not really, I’m actually very serious when I say this) refer to them as merely ‘suggestions’.

I am not into laws and rules.  I grew up Free Will Baptist in the deep south, Marianna, Florida (the panhandle of Florida) with very strict well-meaning parents, preachers and Sunday School teachers.  My entire life up until about 35 years old (I am 43 now) I felt like I was in a box of rules.  Don’t do this, don’t do that.  You must have this job.  You can’t work there.  You must go to church every time the doors are open.  You shouldn’t dress like this.  You have to wear your hair this way.  You must believe this way.  You must be saved from your sins.  Stand up.  Sit down.  Pray here.  Don’t be friends with THOSE people.  You can only date THESE people.  Ugh!!  These rules were quite confining for my Free Spirit and even though I tried to conform, it was most uncomfortable and against my true Nature.

images-1Alas, around the age of 35 I moved to Denver, Colorado for four (4) years, before migrating to my real home in the San Francisco Bay Area where I have been for about three (3) years.  Ahhhhh, it sure is good to finally feel like I am truly where I belong.  During the jaunt from North Florida to California, I shed many rules and regulations about how I am supposed to live and who I am supposed to be.  I let go of society’s idea of what I should and should not do, including well meaning family and friends.

Through yoga, meditation and self-realization, I am even more in tune with my own Internal Compass.  My Higher Self has always guided me and held me to a much higher standard than any silly oppressive man-made rule ever has or will.  I realize many man-made rules and laws are necessary for mainstream society.  However, for me, I see them as very limiting and confining and choose to follow my own rules.

imagesComing full circle, you know those speed limit signs that have the live monitor attached to them, the ones that calculate your speed just as you are driving by and if you are going too fast they will flash your speed and tell you to slow down?  I hate those.  No, really, this yogi despises those and I’m pretty certain the oppressive upbringing is responsible for the very loud voice inside my head that says “Fuck You” every time I drive by one of those.  Do I slow down?  Sometimes I do.  But most of the time, I just keep going the speed I am going (which isn’t THAT fast and certainly not a danger to the rest of the vehicles on the road).

I laugh at myself because there is still that limiting voice inside my head that says “A yogi isn’t supposed to think thoughts like that.”  And then I do what any meditating yogi would do, I put that limiting thought (along with all other thoughts, including the ‘Fuck You’ one) on a cloud and watch it float by, knowing that I am not my thoughts.

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Breaking the Law | Rules? No Thanks

  1. In a village in Norfolk, when these signs first appeared, they needed to take it down. People where speeding up to see how fast they could get and have the sign tell them. :-)

    Jim

    • haha. That’s funny that people would speed up. I haven’t thought about doing that before. :) I’ll keep that information tucked away until just the right time to try that myself! ;)

      • not illegal until you get caught anyway. best time yet (maybe,) was pulling out of the parking lot of the dowtown diner in tulsa, and hitting the stopwatch. crossed the little rock city limits averaging 103. from then on in did the limit sorta/kinda/maybe/sometimes, and still did a ten hour trip in 7:15. from here to orlando is normally about fifteen, but i’ve done it in twelve flat. you turn off the radio, get into whatever groove you can find fits for that day, and find a way to calm down later. :P

Leave a Reply

