Daily Prompt: I Got Skills ~ Buon Giorno

Today’s Daily Prompt:  If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

Language.  I love the sound of various languages.  They sound like melodies to my ear and I long to be able to speak other languages.  I took two (2) years of Spanish in high school but that was so long ago the only things I remember are how to ask for another beer and where is the bathroom.  Since I don’t drink alcohol, that leaves me with one (1) usable (although very important) Spanish sentence.

Florence

View from the restaurant balcony at the top of the Westin Exelsior Hotel in Florence, Italy
photo credit: Lori Wise

Italian is the language I am currently learning.  I have the full set of Rosetta Stone Italian and am on level 1.  I love the Italian language as it has a certain cadence to it that feels like a dance to my ears.

My boyfriend is Italian and his sister and her family all live in Florence, Italy.  I’ve been twice and each time I go I learn more of the language.  After the last trip, I could tell my studies helped me understand more words.  Although I wasn’t able to translate entire sentences, I was beginning to pick out words within the sentences that I could understand, which gave me some context of the conversations.  I’m hoping to be fluent after completing the five (5) levels in Rosetta Stone.  I go through phases where I study for an hour every day, and then a few weeks will go by without studying.  When I’m very active with my studies I will even dream in Italian.  I love that!!

I’ve already decided that after mastering Italian, I’m moving on to French.  I’ve heard that once you learn one (1) Romance language, it’s much easier to learn the others.  I’m hoping this is true for me.  I’m very inspired and in awe of those that can fluently speak many different languages and hope look forward to the day Italian and French flow nicely off my tongue.

After French?  Chinese.

Can you speak any other languages besides English?  How long did it take you to learn them?

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I Got Skills ~ Buon Giorno

  1. I learnt French by living in France, and can still remember childhood German, my Dad was there in the Army when I was a kid.

    It is interesting to hear the joining points of language, English has so many influences.

    Jim

    • Very cool that you can remember German from your childhood. I hope to one day live part time in Italy and I know that will help with my Italian. Languages are quite interesting, aren’t they? I love them all! :)

  2. Good luck! I loooved learning Italian, though it pretty much destroyed any semblance of Spanish that I remembered. Italian suited me better anyway– I like languages where the emotion you’re expressing is audible in the words you say. My parents are super-handy with languages, but I didn’t get the ear for it. I learned (basic) Italian in a year because I had a phenomenal teacher and I’m a pretty good student… but I’m pretty good with reading languages. I picked up Russian, visually, to the point that I can read books… though I can’t say or understand a single word when it’s spoken. I was really impressed with the Rosetta Stone program and it sounds like you have a great support system for the program– so you’ll be speaking fluent Italian in no time! :) Good luck and have fun with it!! :D

    • I like your description of Italian “emotion you’re expressing is audible in the words you say”. That is one of the things I love most about Italian. Just speaking the language feels like I’m singing a song that comes from my soul. Russian? Never even thought about putting that one in the cue. Perhaps I should! :) Thanks for the well wishes, Dear One~ Blessings and Ciao Ciao ;)

  3. Wow! You inspire me with your goals and determination! I also took 2 years of Spanish in high school, but like you said, that was so long ago that I don’t remember much of it at all! I can count to ten in Spanish… yippee! I found it to be difficult to learn, but still would love to be able to speak the language. Good luck in your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

