St. Francis of Assisi Prayer

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
Amen.
The first time I heard the Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi, I was at the Center for Spiritual Enlightenment in San Jose, CA for Sunday service.  It was my first time there.  The congregation said the prayer together at the beginning of service.  I didn’t know the words, but listened intently and before the prayer was finished, I was in tears.  I was so moved that I hardly remember anything else that day.  
This prayer resonated so deeply in my Soul as this is the basis of how I try to live my life;  diffusing hate with Love, bringing Light into the darkness, forgiving when injured and spreading Hope in the midst of despair.
I was reintroduced to this prayer New Year’s 2011 as Dominic and I were driving back from Palm Desert after visiting friends for the New Year.  We were detoured from our original route due to unexpected snow and ended up having to drive up the Pacific Coast Hwy, which was unbelievably breathtaking and a surreal beginning to my 2011.  I was listening to an audio of Dr. Wayne Dyer‘s The Power of Intention and this song came on my iPod. It is Dr. Dyer’s daughter, Sky Dyer, singing.
Once again, I was moved to tears as every word spoke to me at the most deepest, Divine part of my being.  I have learned the words to it and sing it often when I’m alone.  I still cannot get through the entire song without choking up.  It has become my mantra for 2011.  Interestingly enough, it looks as though I will be ending my 2011 in Assisi, Italy, actually visiting the tomb of St. Francis.  I hope I don’t forget to pack my tissues.
May you also receive a blessing from this Prayer.  
Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen
5 thoughts on “St. Francis of Assisi Prayer

  1. Pingback: The Mystic Prophet Francis of Assisi « Earthpages.org

  2. Lori, Your personal stories and warmth come shining through your words. Thanks for an inspiring and great start to my week!
    PS. So excited for your Assisi trip!!! Will be good to have your energy on our continent for a while!

Leave a Reply

