The Letters ~ by, Lori Wise

Every single person who’s drifted in and out of your life is a part of your Divinely chosen experience.  As you move into the world of inspiration, you’ll find it easy – and even necessary – to give thanks for all these people, and to take serious note of what they brought you.  ~Dr. Wayne Dyer

Whenever a boyfriend or lover broke my heart, I would journal about the pain and the heartache.  I would spend hours alone sobbing and writing, sometimes gasping for air, tears dripping down onto the pages blurring the inked words I’d just freed from the depths of my soul.  It was sheer hell yet liberating at the same time.   I would pray from the most wounded corners of my heart for God to heal my heartache and not let me be bitter and hateful towards men.  Even as a young girl I seemed to know the heavy darkness hatred and bitterness bred.  I wanted no part of them.  I only wanted Love.

Through the years, I found that Love I was looking for reflecting back at me.   I found it in people, in prayer, in books, in music, in poetry, in temple, in nature, on mountaintops, on my bicycle and on dance floors.  I found that Love in yoga, in meditation, in kirtan, in chanting, in positive affirmations and in quotes.   That Love was even waiting for me in the arms of other lovers.  And then one day I found that Love in the strangest of places …… Inside.

The heartache that once permeated my chest had been transformed into wisdom, appreciation and gratitude.  Once I realized a key universal Truth, “Everything is temporary”, I released my death grip on the people in my life.  It was liberating for me (and for them).   No longer did I place my happiness in the hands of the people that were in my life.  Instead of trying to hold on to everyone that passed into my life, my goal was to love them and their presence in my life, and appreciate each moment I got to share with them.  That moment soon passes, to allow for another moment, that is equally as important.  It’s all too easy to focus the gaze on the potential loss, instead of enjoying the love, happiness and companionship someone brings into our life.  When it’s time for them to go, send them off with Peace and Love and thankfulness for the lessons, love and growth they brought into your life.

Inspiration from that Love has compelled me to begin writing letters of thankfulness to those who broke my heart.   As Dr. Wayne Dyer said, “Every single person who’s drifted in and out of your life is a part of your Divinely chosen experience.  As you move into the world of inspiration, you’ll find it easy – and even necessary – to give thanks for all these people, and to take serious note of what they brought you.”

Perhaps as I write The Letters I will share some of them here (with names changed).  

My hope is that by sharing my perspective of Love, even for those who have broken my heart, that you, too, will find space in your heart, your mind and your soul to find the blessing in everyone that has crossed your path.  Even if it didn’t turn out like you thought it was supposed to.  Even if they broke your heart.   Let Love fill the cracks with Gold.

When the Japanese mend broken objects, they aggrandize the damage by filling the cracks with gold.  They believe that when something’s suffered damage and has a history it becomes more beautiful.  ~Barbara Bloom

Has it been a struggle for you to recognize the blessing difficult and painful people bring into your lives?  What are the tools and methods you use to bridge the gap between broken hearts and appreciation for all experiences?

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen
8 thoughts on “The Letters ~ by, Lori Wise

  1. Just the other day I started to finish writing a letter that I initially started writing 2 years ago to a guy..he broke my heart last year..and I found this letter that I had started and continued writing it..but it wasn’t an angry letter..it was a thankful letter..so I know what you are talking about surprisingly..
    I still haven’t finished writing it..maybe I’ll pick it up again next year 😛

    • Thanks for sharing this! How wonderful that you are also able to find gratitude in the midst of what can sometimes seem like a difficult loss or transition. I do hope you are able to finish your letter. I am hoping to begin mine. I’ve written them many times in my heart, but haven’t yet put them on paper. Blessings, Dear One~

Leave a Reply

