Getting My Art On ~ by, Lori Wise

Image

My artistic side is finally emerging after being dormant for many years.  Even though I’ve colored mandalas inside my Coloring Mandalas 2, For Balance, Harmony, and Spiritual Well-Being, by Susanne F. Fincher for over a dozen years, I’ve never tried my hand at freely drawing mandalas.

After purchasing a set of colorful sharpie markers in anticipation of my growing Mandala drawing inspirations, the mandala below is what I made.  


Image

I’m very pleased with the results, considering it is the first time I’ve drawn one.  I started in the center of the paper drawing a shape.  Then I picked another shape and drew it all the way around the first shape.  I continued to draw various shapes and lines, being sure to repeat the chosen design all the way around the mandala.  This process was quite meditative, very similar to when I color them.  I then colored the mandala with my colored pencils and markers.

I enjoy working with mandalas and find them very healing.  They promote balance, harmony in one’s Life as well as spiritual well-being.  Looking at mandalas, drawing, coloring and even thinking about these objects of sacred geometry promotes a deep sense of Peace inside me.

I recently attended an art class at A Work of Heart in San Jose, CA.  It was a beginning painting class and I’m hoping to learn how to paint mandalas.  Stay tuned for more pictures of my emerging Inner Artist.

Are you feeling artistic lately?  How do you like to express your creative side?  Is there a certain time of the day or week that you set aside and create, just for the sake of creating?

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen

6 thoughts on “Getting My Art On ~ by, Lori Wise

  1. Wow! Lori! That is BEAUTIFUL!!! I would be pleased with myself too! It sounds very fun. I, too, am very artistic and I’m sure I would enjoy making mandalas. This is the first time I’ve heard about them. 🙂 I look forward to seeing more of yours. Love you. Have a wonderful day.

    • Thanks, Tena! 🙂 They are so fun to draw and the best part is you can’t really make a mistake. Have fun exploring the world of mandalas and I can’t wait to see your creations, Dear One. Blessings, Lori

Leave a Reply

