Daily Prompt: 1984 | You want me to actually talk about my fears?

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

I’ve only done one of the Daily Prompts so far this year, well, ever, actually.  But I do see them as catalysts encouraging me to post more often.  After seeing todays Daily Prompt, the thoughts in my head went something like this …. “You want me to actually talk about my fears?  Out loud?  Well, on paper anyway.  Okay, so you want me to publish them online for all to see?  Uh, no, but thanks for playing!”

I decided to click on some of the other blogs who already posted on this subject to see what they had to say and Purple Rosemary and I clearly were experiencing the same sentiments.

AlbinoRattler-WhiteSnakeHowever, after thinking about this for a few minutes, I calmed down and decided to share  what used to be my biggest fear.  Snakes.  For most of my life I’ve been deathly afraid of snakes.  Giving out that information to others (especially friends and family) always prompted them to get their jollies by scaring me with pictures of snakes, placing rubber snakes in my desk at work, etc.  I even had an ex-boyfriend put a snake in my house after I’d broken up with him.  I never understood why people would take such sensitive information about someone then use it against them, especially if it instilled great fear in them.  My psyche just doesn’t work that way.

You may ask why in the blazing glory of hell am I sharing this now?  Here’s why.  I had a dream on the night of May 5, 2012 (5/5/2012).  After meditating naked under the full moon with my Isis crystal, I went to bed that night and dreamed of a beautiful white Light washing down through the crown of my head all the way out through the bottoms of my feet.  This seemed to go on on all night.  It was the most beautiful, peaceful feeling I’ve ever experienced.  When I woke up, I felt more refreshed than I had ever felt in my entire 43 years of Life.  The most curious thing I noticed afterwards was that I didn’t feel fear anymore.  The gripping fears I had before I went to sleep that night, fear of heights, fear of snakes, fear of rejection, fear of being myself, fear of not being good enough, etc.  seemed to all be washed away in the White Light Shower.  I awoke with this deep Knowing that there wasn’t anything I ever needed to be afraid of, ever.

Though most of my life I’ve never been able to look at a picture of a snake without great fear coursing through my body, today I can look at them, read about them and even consider them as a fellow Soul Friend on this journey instead of some slithering creepy creature that is just waiting to bite me.  It’s even possible, given the opportunity, I might actually hold a snake one day.

Have you had fears that you’ve been able to overcome?  How did you overcome them?

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: 1984 | You want me to actually talk about my fears?

  1. Pingback: BEHIND MY EYES |

  2. Pingback: BEHIND MY EYES « hastywords

  3. Pingback: BEHIND MY EYES « hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: 1984 « KnowledgeKnut

  5. It’s true, though. People, even those who profess to love you, will use your fears against you. Why some think it’s funny to do those things is beyond me. I an glad that you found peace from your fears.

Leave a Reply

