West Coast Weekend: Santa Cruz + Pigeon Point Lighthouse

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.
Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.
The winds will blow their own freshness into you,
and the storms their energy,
while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.

~John Muir

This weekend I was able to spend some valuable time at the Pacific Coast.  On Friday, my boyfriend and I took his recently re-furbished 1961 Chevrolet Corvette convertible through the beautiful Santa Cruz mountains on Hwy 17 to Santa Cruz.  I am convinced the air in those mountains is Magic Air.

IMG_20130316_144249

After arriving in Santa Cruz we parked at the Yacht Harbor and ate lunch at The Crow’s Nest.  I had a salad from the salad bar and a bowl of clam chowder.  My boyfriend had a fish sandwich.  Not only were our lunches delicious, but the view from our table was beyond surreal.

IMG_0043

After eating I walked around the harbor enjoying Nature’s artwork ……. 
IMG_0038

….. as well as Man’s artwork.
IMG_0040

After lunch we headed to the beach for some healing sun and negative ions (the waves crashing on the shore causes negative ions to be released into the air which is very healing).

My boyfriend read The San Francisco Chronicle from cover to cover, which he does everyday and I meditated while listening to the therapeutic sounds of the waves crashing on the shore.  The temperature was a perfect 70 degrees.


IMG_0039

On the way back to San Jose from Santa Cruz we took Hwy 9, and I got to drive the ‘vette!!  She is a beast and requires your undivided attention to maneuver her through the winding roads in the Santa Cruz mountains.  There are hairpin turns and magnificent Redwoods so close to the road you could reach out your hand and touch them as you drive by.  The air is cool, fresh and fragrant and I generously thanked all the magnificent trees for their Magic Air as I drove by.

_________________________________________________________________________

Saturday brought a venture further north up the coast to Pigeon Point Lighthouse.  Because we knew it would be colder we took the Tesla instead of the Corvette.  There is a hostel there I was thinking about staying at for some quiet writing time.  It was VERY windy and cold there with the temperature being about 59 degrees.  The view more than made up for the chilly wind.

IMG_0035

IMG_0036

IMG_0037

After leaving Pigeon Point Lighthouse in Pescadaro, CA, we drove back down Hwy 1 to Santa Cruz, then back up Hwy 17 to San Jose … home.   It was a wonderful weekend and I thought about my friends and family that I wished I could share this magical weekend with.  Sharing these pics on my blog was the best way to bring you along with us!

Magical Blessings to All!

Aum ~ Shanti ~ Amen

2 thoughts on “West Coast Weekend: Santa Cruz + Pigeon Point Lighthouse

Leave a Reply

