Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure, Meet The Sidneys

In this week’s Photo Challenge, we are to post something that we treasure, something that is most important to us …..

Meet The Sidneys, my most treasured items.  The brown bear on the left is Sid2, short for Sidney the II.  He is a replacement bear for the original Sidney, the white bear on the right. The original Sidney was given to me by my first husband for my 18th birthday.

The Sidneys

I have slept with the original Sidney every night for about 24 years, repairing him all along as he started falling apart.  This loyal worn out bear has soaked up more tears than I care to tell.  He has been there with me through marriages, divorces and the birth of my son (literally, in the bed with me as I was delivering my son).  Sidney has moved from Florida to California by way of Denver with me, never leaving my side.

About 2 years ago Sidney became nearly decapitated and I started seeking a replacement bear.  You see, after all these years, I can’t sleep without holding a bear in my arms.  For 22 years, if Sidney fell out of the bed at night, I would wake up and pick him up off the floor and put him back in my arms.

One day, while riding my bike through the neighborhood I came upon a yard sale that had a cute brown teddy bear who looked brand new and had no funny smells.  I held him in my arms and instantly knew he was the new bear for me!   I brought him home riding in the basket of my bicycle with a happy smile on his face.  Immediately I washed him and dubbed him Sidney the II, Sid2 for short.  He’s been in my arms every night since.

Just in case you’re doing the math …. yes, I am a 44 year old woman that still sleeps with a teddy bear.  I’m really just a little girl at heart. ❤

Thanks for stopping by to read about my most treasured item(s).  What is your most treasured item?

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen

Here are some other interesting posts about Treasure:

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Journeyman
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Basically Beyond Basic
  3. Treasure (Weekly Photo Challenge) | Icezine
  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Flickr Comments
  5. The Northern Lights Cathedral & Sami Clothing | Cardinal Guzman
  6. WordPress weekly photo challenge, treasure |
  7. Can’t Forget To Remember… | Steve Says….
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure #shotwithmyphone | Captured With My Phone, iPhoneography
  9. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Stephen Chapman
  10. My.Vivid.Visions | Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure – Memory of Culture
  11. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure | Chittle Chattle
  12. My Greatest Treasure | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  13. My treasure | MyBlog – solaner
  14. Dirty Air Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure |
  16. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | For the Archives
  17. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure – Liber |
  18. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure | Just Snaps
  19. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | castelsarrasin
  20. In the Name of Faith: Treasures | Lost in Translation
  21. WPC: Treasure | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  22. Sunset at Carmel Beach | Not the Family Business!
  23. weekly photo challenge: treasure | Del’s other stuff…
  24. Weekly Photo Challenge : What I Treasure | I see beauty all around by rob paine
  25. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | The Poet Stefan
  26. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic
  27. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | TechPersonified
  28. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure « LargeSelf
  29. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | nancy merrill photography
  30. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | stenoodie
  31. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | marthalisek
  32. My Treasure. | Thoughts On Love
  33. Treasure | About-One-Thing
  34. Treasure | follow your nose
  35. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | A mom’s blog
  36. WPC: Treasured Memory | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  37. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Active Army Wife
  38. weekly photo challenge: treasure | Curls n Skirls
  39. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | roastbeefandrakija
  40. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | aobeamber
  41. Weekly Photo Challenge: treasure | paintedwords
  42. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Tim Wolverson – Photo Blog
  43. WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Perfecting Motherhood
  44. WPC – Treasure | PHOTO & POETRY
  45. Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | JGTravels
  46. Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure | Joe’s Musings
9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure, Meet The Sidneys

  1. Pingback: WPC: Treasure – LOVE | Words 'n Pics…

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | mariestephensgardening

  4. Pingback: PRIVATE TREASURES | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: My Greatest Treasure of All | Raising Jed

  7. Pingback: WPC b4 Retouch: treasure | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

