Camping / Hiking at Big Basin Redwoods State Park

The Redwoods call me.  They beckon me from deep within the Santa Cruz mountains.

Resisting their call is next to impossible, so I plan … and I go to them.  They always welcome me ‘Home’.

Redwood
My favorite place to commune with them is Big Basin Redwoods State Park in Northern California, about half-way between San Jose and Santa Cruz, near Boulder Creek.

Time stands still here, where every breath is Pure Medicine for whatever ails you.

I caught the hiking and tent camping bug back in September 2013 so I am a ‘newbie’.

Even though I have never backpacked, my goal is backpacking Skyline-to-the-Sea trail this fall (2014).  Skyline-to-the Sea is a 3 day/2 night backpacking trail (30 – 33 miles, depending on the route you take …. hiking about 10+ miles a day) that begins in Castle Rock State park and ends at Waddell Beach.  Waddell Beach is located halfway between Santa Cruz and Half Moon Bay, just south of Pescadero on Hwy US1.

The Skyline-to-the-Sea trail has some hills, but is mainly a slight descent from the Redwood forest to the Pacific Ocean.

In my ongoing training for this backpacking trip I camped for 2 nights/3 days in Big Basin State Park a couple of weekends ago.  The second day, we (my boyfriend and I) hiked a portion of the Skyline-to-the-Sea trail from Park Headquarters to Berry Falls and then back the same way we came.  The hike was about 8.5 – 9 miles round trip and took us about 5 ½ hours.

When we arrived at Berry Falls, we found a sunny spot near the waterfall to rest and devoured the lunches we packed earlier in the morning.

On our return hike, there were moments the campsite seemed so far away and the steps I needed to take to arrive back were so monumental.  How would I ever take them all …. most of them being slightly uphill?  After all, this was the longest hike I’d ever done.

Towards the end of the hike I noticed mySelf reminding my legs and feet they only needed to focus on the current step.

I thought of life outside the forest and how easy it is to get overwhelmed with the magnitude of the Journey of the day, the week, the month, the year …. the lifetime.

All I need do is focus on the current step.  When I do that, I place myself in the best possible position when the next step arrives.  I’m ‘sitting on ready’.  The previous step is already taken care of and the next step isn’t even real yet.  When it does become real, I’m already there.

Even though the main purpose of this camping trip was to get outside and be One with Mother Nature and train for my backpacking trip, I took away so much more.

The forest always gives me gifts …. feathers, chakra clearing, aura cleansing, healing of past traumas, chakra opening, communion with Nature, and so much more…..

This trip my Gift was a graceful reminder about BEing Present.

 

“When we are present in each moment, the past
gently rolls up behind us and the future slowly unravels before us.”  ~Rev. Richard Levy

 

Even though the hike was challenging for us ‘newbies’, we made it back to camp and celebrated our accomplishment with a delicious and filling campfire dinner of salad, chicken, quinoa, broccoli and s’mores.

I Am ready to go again and already planning my next trip, s’mores included! 🙂

Aum ~ Peace ~ Amen

Do you like to hike, camp, backpack?  Does Mother Nature call out to you?  Where are your favorite places to commune with Nature?  I look forward to reading your comments! 🙂

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Camping / Hiking at Big Basin Redwoods State Park

  1. I like the valuable info you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again right here frequently.
    I’m somewhat sure I will be informed plenty of new stuff proper right here!
    Good luck for the following!

  2. I love this post. It is only in the presence of nature that I am living from my soul and not my ego. We visited the redwood forests in Northern California a few years ago and I promised myself I would return. We were living in New Jersey back then and simply visiting the area, but now that I live in Oregon I simply have no excuse. I look forward to reading more of your posts. They bring me joy. Billy

    • Thanks for reading about my Redwood forest experience. There is something magical about those trees that brings me to a calmer, peaceful part of myself. I LOVE the way you put it, “It is only in the presence of nature that I am living from my soul and not my ego.” That is my true heart’s desire, to live from my soul and not my ego. Blessings ~ ❤

Leave a Reply

